Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Creating Collectives

Provocation #9: three people and a big umbrella

I’m performing this weekend! If you happen to be in or near Detroit, come out on Saturday, December 3rd at 9 p.m. for the city’s 48th annual Noel Night celebration at the historic First Congregational Church. Beware there will be a lot of traffic! It is a free event and I’ll be performing 12 new songs that I’ve been working on as part of my Album in a Month project.


(Full video transcript)
Greetings, Earthlings. Shara over here. I would like to talk to you today about coalitions. The reason I would like to focus on this subject is that a lot of folks have been asking me whether they should put their record out themselves or try to find a record label, and so I just wanna point to some business models that I've always really looked up to, and also say that I don't have the answer to these questions, and I am also still trying to figure out business models that work for me and they're continually changing.

Some of my favorite examples of collectives are looking at groups like THE ROOTS! The Roots became this house where all of these people could come and play with the Roots. The Roots were the backing band for so many people, not just on the television show, but The Roots, like, by making a festival that could house all of these other acts, they became a genre and other people began to benefit from being on their platform. That's one band that made a decision.

The full video is for paid subscribers

Provocations
Welcome to Provocations - activations for you and I both, pushing us to think more deeply, live more wildly, and embrace being creative humans.
Authors
Shara Nova