Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
1

High Voice

whistle tone
1

Coo: 5-3-1 slides

For the chickadees, the sparrows, the tweet tweet birds, really, really, really pucker your lips for the “oo,” like a trumpet player changing the embouchure? Somehow the pucker enables me to make the tiny, tiniest sound possible instead of trying to “sing.” My teacher Josephine Mongiardo would ask me to hmm like a cat too, just trying to access how to make the sound very very small without force. How many repeated words should I use here? Very small. I mean, the smallest sound I can imagine. Very puckered. Very.

The full video is for paid subscribers

Songs in Four Dimensions
Vocal Inquiry
These posts include vocal exercises, conversations with academics & other amazing singers and musings on the act of singing.
Authors
Shara Nova